General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » hello from an overweight beer swilling english guy!! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-12-13 5:41 PM

New user

Croydon, South London
Subject: hello from an overweight beer swilling english guy!!
Hello All, Well i think the subject title covers things nicely!!
Fairly new to this as i've never done a triathlon before. I did train for a charity (sprint) tri in summer 2003 and lost 25 pounds in 6 weeks but sadly i never got to do it cos i had to work the weekend....was not happy! Now a new job in the middle of the countryside meant i had to leave my gym and more unsociable working hours have meant i've ballooned up to 225 pound hence the reason for getting back into this.
I come from a cycling (road racing) background so i'm perfectly comfortable on the bike but like most people, i don't float too well in the water, even with this layer of fat!

stay tuned of my monumental battle to get super fit and enjoy my new hobby!!

2004-12-13 6:14 PM
in reply to: #92102

User image

Elite
Texas
Subject: RE: hello from an overweight beer swilling english guy!!
Welcome Mike. Don't worry about the weight so much. It will come off. I recently picked up a copy of "Sports Nutrition for Endurance Athletes". There's a good chapter on weight loss, and lot's of information specifically about eating for triathlon training and racing. As for the swim, I routinely sank like a stone up until recently when I began the Total Immersion swim training. I highly recommend that program, especially if you are just starting out with swimming. There. That's everything I know, as a fellow newbie! Good luck with your training.
2004-12-13 6:28 PM

User image

Pro
Broomfield, Colorado
Welcome and good luck training - that's quite a huge bummer about your previous race! After all that training!
2004-12-13 7:29 PM
in reply to: #92114

New user

Croydon, South London