General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Healthy foods/Calories and recommended diets Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-09-04 11:53 AM

User image

Veteran
Richland, MS
Subject: Healthy foods/Calories and recommended diets

I am new to Triathlons and have recently started training.  My beginning weight at the start of my training prgram was 257.  I would like to drop between 60 and 70 pounds before the spring.  Can anyone make suggestions on grocery list items, must haves, avoids..etc....  Not real sure what my total calorie intake, fat gms, carbs, etc...  I would like to keep a healthy variety so I dont get bored or discouraged with the same ole foods.

Any suggestions?

2008-09-04 12:11 PM
in reply to: #1649373

User image

Lafayette, CO
Subject: RE: Healthy foods/Calories and recommended diets
Well, that's hard for anyone to give you an exact number on but key things to look at are portions.   Also add more produce to your diet.  Just about anyone (including me) can do more of this.  Instead of meat, starch veggie meals think about small meat, small starch (preferably whole grain less processed stuff) and 2 veggies.  Or take out the starch occasionally and replace with a starchy veggie like corn.  Or not at all.  One thing that helped me was logging every single thing that went into my mouth for awhile and adding up those calories.  Don't estimate weigh out your meats and cheeses and such so you know exactly how much you're getting.  A standard meat serving is the size of a deck of cards! 
2008-09-04 2:33 PM
in reply to: #1649444

User image

Master
Cumming, Georgia
I lost 70 lbs in about 6 months by reducing food portions, eating frequent small meals, eliminating soda, fried food, fast food, sweats (occasional reward), increasing fruits and veggies, and 30 - 60 minutes of cardio (zone 1 - 2).  Not sure that works for everyone but worked perfect for me.

Edited by csharp1171 2008-09-04 2:33 PM
2008-09-04 2:40 PM
in reply to: #1650087

User image