General Discussion Triathlon Talk » hamstring pull Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-10-07 2:39 PM

User image

Master
Victoria, BC
Subject: hamstring pull
Anyone have any first-hand info dealing with this?
I pulled my right hamstring yesterday, teaching bootcamp (my own stupid fault - demonstrating something difficult with cold muscles). I've been to the doctor today and it appears to be a Grade 2 pull, however I'm really swollen and inflamed so it's difficult to pinpoint exactly what happened. I'm going back in a few days, hopefully will get more answers then. (My glute is also causing a lot of pain, so don't know where it started)
But I've been told I might be out for 6 weeks! Is this true?!? How long did it take you to heal? .. I'm a teacher (yoga and bootcamp) and if I don't work - I don't get paid!

2008-10-07 3:33 PM
in reply to: #1724725

User image

Master
Falls Church, VA
Subject: RE: hamstring pull

at least 6 weeks.

hamstrings take forever to heal.

you have to baby it, too or it will linger. what you do not want is a tear.yikes.

only thing I can recommend is ice massage. I use the paper cup method. 

sorry. 

2008-10-07 4:09 PM
in reply to: #1724947

User image

Master
Fulton, MD
Nipper - 2008-10-07 3:33 PM

at least 6 weeks.

hamstrings take forever to heal.

you have to baby it, too or it will linger. what you do not want is a tear.yikes.

only thing I can recommend is ice massage. I use the paper cup method. 

sorry. 

Sorry to thread hijack, but....

So you're the reason I can't use my last name as a screenname! I have to ask, is Nipper your last name or a nickname?

2008-10-07 4:37 PM

User image

New Haven, CT