General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Shin pain - race coming up Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-03-28 6:26 PM

Subject: Shin pain - race coming up
I've been running 12-15 miles/wk for about 3 months now. Two weeks ago I was invited to run with a 10K training team for a group workout. I ran with them two weeks in row at a fairly hard effort. Long story short, I guess it was too much too soon and I've ended up with a mild case of the shin splints. The pain is noticable but very tolerable as long as I rest 2-3 days between runs. From those experienced runners out there should I stop running totally even though I have a 10K on 4/9 that I'd really hate to miss or just take it slow and easy for the next two weeks. Sorry if I've rambled but I hope you get the gist.

Thanks, Scott

Edited by mtb-rider 2005-03-28 6:28 PM

2005-03-29 8:49 AM
in reply to: #134983

User image

Chicago, IL
Subject: RE: Shin pain - race coming up
what a drag. i had a shin splint a couple of years ago training for imoo and here's what i did. ice for 20-30 min. every 4 hours. ibuprofen 800 mg every 8-12 hours. lots of stretching. ace wrap at all times except when sleeping and running. i didn't change my training much but i was in the middle of training. it would definitely help to rest as much as possible and with your race so close a little taper would do you well. good luck!
2005-03-29 10:38 AM

User image

Buttercup

You want to start doing strength training exercises to correct muscle imbalances.  Google.

Simple exercises you can do at your desk:

• From a sitting position, elevate your foot so that it's straight out from the knee. Imagine you have a piece of chalk between your toes and trace the alphabet. Do this 2 or 3 times a day.
  • Keep marbles at your desk. Take your shoes off and practice picking up marbles with your toes.
  • Wear boots or heels (your name is Scott, so I'd go with boots unless you're okay with heels).