General Discussion Triathlon Talk » On a plateau,,,, Help! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-04-14 10:49 AM

Subject: On a plateau,,,, Help!
It would appear that I'm on a plateau,,,, or in a rut. I'm losing my drive for some reason. I used to love to get up in the morning and hit the gym,,,, not so much anymore. I now swim at lunch and run or ride at night. I've gone from "two-a-days" to "one-a-days".
I started training in January and seem to be losing steam. I have about 6 events scheduled for this summer and now I'm thinking I should scale back.
The one thing I'm not doing is using Supplements. Should I start using them at this point in my training? If so, which ones?

2005-04-14 11:05 AM
in reply to: #142462

User image

Champion
Two seat rocket plane
Subject: RE: On a plateau,,,, Help!
Find a race....soon
or
Do a neighborhood 5k or something. Pick apart your performance and you'll have something specific to work on.
or
Have someone look at your swim stroke and give you some ideas on how to improve
or
Get a standard ride and time yourself on it. Go really hard. In two weeks, do it again, see the improvement.

or all of the above
2005-04-14 11:09 AM

User image

Not a Coach
Media, PA

If the race idea doesn't work, try something different.

Go for a run or ride or hike outdoors somewhere you haven't been before.  Don't plan a time or pace.  Don't think of it as a workout.  Just get outside and enjoy.  Remember that this is all about having FUN!!!

2005-04-14 11:16 AM

Supplements (a good one!) make all the difference in the world, in addition to sleeping well, etc...