General Discussion Triathlon Talk » New to Tri in Tennessee Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-06-03 12:33 PM

User image

New user

Subject: New to Tri in Tennessee

Hey to the group,

I am new to Trisports and was wandering if anyone could help me with a program and or just general knowledge? 

Finished the CMM back in April and have completed my recovery program. I can Bike for an hour and run for more but other than swimming for fun have never done much swimming. Can any one offer some help or suggestions? I was hoping to be able to do a Sprint Tri as a Beginner before the summer ends but am totally intimidated by the swimming.

I am from the Manchester, Tn. area. Any help would be greatly appreciated, 1965 model but I still can start in the morning, well most mornings anyway..........

2009-06-03 12:58 PM
in reply to: #2192186

User image

Veteran
Memphis, TN
Subject: RE: New to Tri in Tennessee
Welcome.  If you've done a marathon and can ride for an hour there is no reason you shouldn't be able to do a sprint.  I did a web search and you've got a lap pool in Manchester:

Manchester Recreation Complex
557 North Woodland St.
P.O. Box 776
Manchester, TN  37349
Ph: (931) 728-0273

I'd call them and see if they have a masters swim class you can join.  Don't let the masters part worry you.  It's just a class that meets and does swimming drills 2-3 times a week.  Usually their is a coach there to give advise and several swimmers with different levels of experience.

Then, go to this website and sign up for your first tri: http://www.startriathlon.com/default.htm.  It's a short pool swim, 200 yards, 14 mile bike and a 5k.  THis way you are committing yourself to do it and it's in your own backyard.  It's not until September and you probably could be ready for one in Mid-July if you start swimming now.