General Discussion Triathlon Talk » I am a beginner and I am scared, but hopeful Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-06-14 10:07 PM

Subject: I am a beginner and I am scared, but hopeful
Hi,
I am eager to do an triathlon (sprint), but I have never done a marathon in my life.  I am a good swimmer, cyclist and have been running for a few months.  Am I crazy to even consider a triathlon.  Should I train longer before I consider doing a triathlon this year or should I just train and go for it?
Can someone help me ... gimme some hints ... pointers?  What type of gear do I need?

2009-06-14 10:15 PM
in reply to: #2217240

User image

Regular
State College, PA
Subject: RE: I am a beginner and I am scared, but hopeful
hi and welcome to BT!

not sure about your comment on never doing a marathon??  a sprint tri would be a 3.1 mile run.

theres a ton of information here, a lot of tips and pointers for beginners, just try the search button on the top of the page.

as for gear, you'll obviously need goggles, a bike, helmet, most likely a tri suit, or tri shorts and tri top, which are worn during the whole triathlon.  The tri shorts are padded for comfort during the bike, but not too much padding so you can still run normal.

hope that helps a little.
2009-06-15 6:30 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
hi and welcome i am the same as you, my first tri is in 7 weeks i am terrible swimmer thats my biggest thing to overcome, you said you swim I would say if thats the case you are half way there the programs on here are great for first timers, go for it... have fun.
lol
2009-06-15 6:44 AM

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.
2009-06-15 8:32 AM

San Antonio
Just go for it!

Not that I recommend the following as a training program, but it serves as a good example for not being too concerned about your first. For my first tri:

1) I am 42, 5'10", 205 lbs, not in great shape, good swimmer, decent biker, terrible runner
2) I had not worked out in 7 weeks