General Discussion Triathlon Talk » TI coaching for total newbie swimmer? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-07-09 9:21 AM

User image

Regular
Philadelphia
Subject: TI coaching for total newbie swimmer?
I have never had swim lessons and did not learn to swim as a kid. I can tread water for a few minutes a time. And I can do something in water that slowly propels me in a given direction -- but it's probably not "swimming" because it's very exhausting and it has caused strangers to laugh.

There seems to be a consensus that Total Immersion is good for getting you used to the water and teaching efficient movement in water, so I've been thinking about shelling out for lessons with a TI-certified swim coach close to where I live. I know there are books and DVDs and free videos online, but I don't feel confident that I would be able to translate them correctly into movement.

So what do you all think -- would one-on-one TI instruction be a good idea for an adult who knows how to not instantly drown, but doesn't really know how to swim?

2009-07-09 9:24 AM
in reply to: #2272636

User image

Veteran
Subject: RE: TI coaching for total newbie swimmer?
I think it's a good idea.

I can't speak as a swimmer, but as an adult who could only doggie paddle from point A to point B.

A friend of me gave me the TI book, and just from reading that, I've gone from "ohh, that's what a freestyle stroke looks like!" to actually being able to freestyle 1000 yards (my tri is 1100 - 1000 is the most I've done so far) - I'm still slow and learning, but that's just from reading alone!!! (and I haven't even finished the book yet!)
2009-07-09 9:34 AM

User image

Regular
lowell
I'll second the TI for a newbie.