General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Running to swimming/biking equivalent Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2009-07-13 11:15 AM

User image

Veteran
Arlington, VA
Subject: Running to swimming/biking equivalent

I'm a newbie coming to this from training for a 10K and now training for a Sprint Tri.  I can comfortably go out and run for an hour and 6+ miles.  Assuming I had reasonable form in the water (which I have discovered I absolutely do not) and was competent with a bike, how far should I expect to be able to swim or bike comfortably?

Just curious what the more experienced folks on the site think.  If you have built a running base, what is the reasonable equivalent for the swim or bike?  E.g., should someone who can run 5 miles be able to swim 1000 yards or bike 20 miles? 

2009-07-13 11:22 AM
in reply to: #2281099

User image

Pro
Twin Cities
Subject: RE: Running to swimming/biking equivalent
Go get on a bike and ride until you drop.
Go swim until you drop (er, well...maybe a wee bit before t hat).

You'll have your answer as it pertains to you.

Really, there isn't much of a correlation. I've seen 2:45 marathoners who can't swim 50 meters or ride 10 miles...and I've seen folks who run 15 m/mile 5ks swim like Flipper.
2009-07-13 11:25 AM

User image

Elite
PEI, Canada
I don't think there is any direct correlation at all.  Last summer, I could swim for an hour or bike for an hour no problem - try to run more than 10 mins, forget it!
2009-07-13 11:34 AM
in reply to: #2281143

User image

Master
Livonia, MI

axteraa - 2009-07-13 11:25 AM I don't think there is any direct correlation at all.  Last summer, I could swim for an hour or bike for an hour no problem - try to run more than 10 mins, forget it!