General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Anybody in West Michigan???? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 4

2009-11-24 10:33 PM

User image

Subject: Anybody in West Michigan????
Hey everyone!

I am new to this whole TRI thing too and to the BT website. I posted a thread on the "Introduce Yourself" link - but i thought i would try to connect with the locals. I have never done a triathlon before - I have always wanted to, but with college and everything else that goes along with it i never had the time, energy, or money.  Now that i've graduated (as of April '09) i am hell-bent to start making my goals a reality. I want to participate in several TRIs this coming summer of 2010 and hopefully a half IM in September 2010. With our loooooong Michigan winters this will definitely give me enough time to get ready for some spring/summer races.
Are there any training groups in the W.Michigan area that I would be able to connect with? I am from the Muskegon area and I would LOVE to find a group to train with and keep me accountable as well. Training on your own is pretty challenging the first time around.

Let me know if you're out there

Arianne

2009-11-25 8:47 AM
in reply to: #2530441

User image

Extreme Veteran
Middleville, MI
Subject: RE: Anybody in West Michigan????
I live south of Grand Rapids.  The only training groups I know of in the area are tied to Gazelle sports.  I know they have a training program designed to get people prepared for their first triathlon.  I'd be happy to find some others to train with but I am an hour away from Muskegon. 
2009-11-25 11:51 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Jenison , MI
The Trizelle group is great for the first timer. I used it and loved it. I would use it again but I have moved up to the longer races so training with a group for a sprint wont do me much good.

2009-11-26 10:26 AM

User image

Expert
Norton Shores, MI