General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Looking for input on a new bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-06-30 9:36 PM

User image

New user
Subject: Looking for input on a new bike
I've been looking online at bikes and I am seeking input about one I am considering.  A Vilano 2010 TUONO Aluminum Road Bike.  They compare it to the Dawes Lighting 1000 and another site compares the Dawes to the Trek 1.2  The price with shipping is under $275 (save $500, who could pass that up!).  Since I'm still a newbie, I'm looking for some input from others about this.

I'm currently riding a 20+ year old Giant Quasar 12 speed with a steel frame.

Here are the specs:

54cm Medium WHITE - FULL WARRANTY - SAVE $500

54cm Medium WHITE - FULL WARRANTY -  SAVE $500

Vilano TUONO 2010 Specs

• Model: TUONO 2010
  • Weight: 24lbs.
  • Speeds: 21
  • Frame: 6061 Double Butted Aluminum
  • Fork: Chromoly Steel 700c
  • Shifters: Shimano A050
  • Front Derailleur: Shimano
  • Rear Derailleur: Shimano A050
  • Crankset: Tec9 170mm Forged Alloy 50/40/30
  • Bottom Bracket: Shimano
  • Freewheel: Shimano MF-TZ07 7 speed
  • Chain: KMC Z
  • Hubs: Assess
  • Rims: 700c Doubled Walled CNC Machined Sides
  • Tires:700c x 25c
  • Brakes: Promax
  • Headset: Neco
  • Handlebar: Promax
  • Saddle: Vader
  • Seatpost: JBD

The TUONO Features:

• A Strong Lightweight 6061 Aluminum Frame

• Shimano A050 Shifters on the Handlebar

• 21 Speeds to Handle any Situation

• Mount point for fenders and accessories

They have other sizes and I'm getting a fitting later this week.

Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated.

2010-07-01 7:09 AM
in reply to: #2954800

User image

Elite
Columbus, Ohio
Subject: RE: Looking for input on a new bike
Personally I don't like the details... and the devil is in the detail.

1. No specific brand detail on the front and rear derailleur. Shimano makes a lot of different derailleurs and this is open enough that they will put on anything they have.