General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Am I training enough? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-15 1:27 PM

User image

Chicago
Subject: Am I training enough?

I signed up with a coached training group and have been following their schedule to the “T.”  Since training with the group I feel like the program is geared towards compLete not COMPETE.  Which is fine, but personally I’m trying to do my Oly (on August 29th) in less than 3 hours.
I talked to the coaches and they disagreed.  I feel like ‘who am I to critique considering I’m brand new to the sport,’ so I thought I would ask for a second opinion!...

Link to schedule:
http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0AsecUtryj4bcdE1yMWFaUDhpU196MVg1R0lfVGtmRHc&hl=en&authkey=CIzg940J
Or you can look at my [partial] log.  But basically the week is composed of one ‘endurance’ workout and one ‘interval’ workout per discipline.  I also add in 2-3 one hour weight lifting sessions per week.

TIA for any help!

2010-07-15 2:06 PM
in reply to: #2983284

User image

Veteran
Subject: RE: Am I training enough?
Are your logs accurate?  Meaning, did you just start riding in June?  If so, I think you are light on the bike for sure.

My goal for my first Oly in 3 weeks is 2:40 and I am concerned how I will do coming of the bike. 

Good luck!
2010-07-15 2:15 PM

User image

New Haven, CT
Looks like you are training 7 or so hours a week.  That is certainly sufficeint to finish an oly under 3 hrs - assuming a relatively flat course and given you strong swim.  More will obviously help you go faster.  But 7 quality hours is better 10 hours of junk. 
2010-07-15 2:20 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Halifax, Nova Scotia