General Discussion Triathlon Talk » finding a training plan that fits - warning long and boring Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-07-28 8:12 AM

User image

Bronze member
Subject: finding a training plan that fits - warning long and boring
So I'm in my second year of racing triathlons and I'm struggling to find a plan that works for me. Maybe I've been doing whatever I want for way too long. I've been running, biking and swimming for years (like 10 + years for swimming, 18 for bike and run) without ever putting it all together into a triathlon. All those years of exercies were purely for fitness and stress relief. I didn't really race in any of the 3 sports and I didn't do any sports in high school or college. So now try to imagine that - YEARS of walking out the door with nothing recording your pace per mile. Just working out because it feels good until you get to the point of injury and have to quit. Never a scheduled recovery week, never thought about taking a gel or having a recovery drink.  

This spring I bought a huge book full of triathlon plans and was determined to follow a plan with the goal being to stay injury free. I searched through the book but can't really find a plan that seems to be a good fit. I'm a strong swimmer so the swims on most seem way too short or if I go to the more advanced plans the bike and run are more than I'm comfortable with. I get injured easily running (lots of foot problems) so most weeks I am only running 2 days. I like to try to run 3 days but usually it only lasts for about 3 weeks before something gets aggrevated.