General Discussion Race Reports! » 1st Annual Medford Lakes Colony Sprint Triathlon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

1st Annual Medford Lakes Colony Sprint Triathlon - TriathlonSprint

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Medford Lakes, New Jersey
United States
DQTriDu
60sF / 0C
Overcast
Total Time = 1h 24m 56s
Overall Rank = 158/302
Age Group = 25-29
Age Group Rank = 13/17
Pre-race routine:

This was my first race. I did a 5k run/walk once and I got hooked and said why don't I try doing a triathlon because its something that really interested me. I have been a swimmer for a while and I just started riding and biking 2 months ago when I decided to do this race. So this is after 2 months of training.

I picked up my packet the day before. You get a timing chip, timing chip belt, road id number for the run, and a swim cap. Swag bag had a small hand bag with dqtridu on it, a license plate with dqtridu on it that says triathlete, and a few flyers.

This was my first race so I tried to rest up the 2 days before. Slept decently the day before till 8pm. Had a nice breakfast (chicken, rice, and clif bar; yes I eat a regular meal like that usually at 2am everyday) and then drove over. Got there early around 6am. One of the first there. The place where the race is held is beautiful. The community and log cabins were very homey.
Event warmup:

Got there around 6am. The transition area was setup but there was no real direction as to what to do. You kind of just followed the crowd and everyone was moving toward the transition area. The transition area was setup one or two racks long on a long wood deck and on some grass that led the bike out. The transition spots were set up as a first come first serve basis. It was a free for all with about 5 bikes a rack. Plenty of room to lay out your stuff. There were lots of decent bikes, most of them were roadies and then a few triathlon bikes for those who were more competitive.