General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First Tri coming up need some bike advice Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-08-01 10:05 AM

Regular
Maine
Subject: First Tri coming up need some bike advice
Hi all-

I have my first tri this weekend and I'm new to biking. Call me stupid, but I've never changed a bicycle tire and I don't even carry any equipment to do so with me when I ride. (I've been carrying my cell phone to make a call if I get a flat! sad I know) Anyway, with 5 days to go I need to learn how to change a tire and make sure I have the necessary stuff with me. If I don't, I will surely have a flat!

So, what do I need? I have a small bag on the back of my bike seat which usually carries my cell phone and an allen wrench (not sure why I have that but it's in there) Will I hurt my tire/tube by practicing a tire change? (I have a MB with slicks on it that I can practice on if I need to.)

Thanks!

Susan

2005-08-01 10:11 AM
in reply to: #212527

User image

Extreme Veteran
Québec City
Subject: RE: First Tri coming up need some bike advice
Here's a link on the subject that might be helpful :

http://www.ehow.com/how_224_change-flat-tire.html

The only thing left off if you want to get very good at it is a couple of hours of practice...

Good luck !

Christian.
2005-08-01 10:21 AM
in reply to: #212527

Pro
Andover
Subject: RE: First Tri coming up need some bike advice
Call the LBS and tell them you need to get stuff to fix a flat and you'd like them to show you how to do it. Set up a time that will work for them and bring your bike. Make sure they show you how to fix the rear tire, without using the stand--the rear wheel is more difficult to take off / install than the front and you won't have the luxury of a stand on the road. A good shop will have no problem doing this for you, especially since you will be purchasing the stuff you need from them.

Good luck,
Rob
New Thread