General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Kick Time vs. Pull Time Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2010-11-15 10:25 AM

User image

Elite
Ontario
Subject: Kick Time vs. Pull Time

Since I've been working for the past 2 months to improve/create my kick, I'm wondering how my kick time should compare to my swim or pull time?  Would be nice to see some examples of your 25 or 50 yard kick/pull times especially from good swimmers who have a good to great kick.

2010-11-15 11:35 AM
in reply to: #3211265

User image

Pro
Subject: RE: Kick Time vs. Pull Time
I've always believed, either correctly or incorrectly, that the kick didn't matter much in endurance events, and anything more than keeping your legs afloat and body position correct, is just a waste of efficiency.  (sprinters should ignore this advice)

Without flippers- kicking is a very inefficient method of propulsion for humans.  So, why put more energy into something that's inefficient at moving you forward?  Plus, you'll have plenty of time to work out your legs on the bike and the run.  That said- I generally throw in a set or two (250yd) of kicks, but really just for the cross training benefit.  It's a good hip exercise.  I try and kick hard enough so that my the last two laps, my legs feel like lead.  Then- on to other things.
2010-11-15 11:55 AM

User image

Veteran
Rockford, MI
GoFaster - 2010-11-15 11:25 AM

Since I've been working for the past 2 months to improve/create my kick, I'm wondering how my kick time should compare to my swim or pull time?  Would be nice to see some examples of your 25 or 50 yard kick/pull times especially from good swimmers who have a good to great kick.