General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Running: Speed first or distance first Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2011-01-13 9:16 PM

Extreme Veteran
Subject: Running: Speed first or distance first
So i'm working on my HIM training, and was just wondering. I currently run a pretty consistent 10:00 mile, would it be better to build an endurance base first, or a speed base first? Basically, which would be easier, to train from the beginning at the faster pace, working up to the endurance (8-9:00), or should I train from the beginning at the 10:00 pace, and once I get a consistent long run, then work on increasing my speed, or train at the 10:00 pace and do 1 speedwork session a week?

2011-01-13 9:26 PM
in reply to: #3298613

User image

Expert
Subject: RE: Running: Speed first or distance first
Judging from your logs I'm going to assume that you are just starting your HIM training. I'm far from an expert, but I would suggest that you work on a running base first, then worry about speed. I'm a firm believer that you need to run further slower before you can run faster. The fastest way to injure yourself is to run too fast too early.

Best of luck with your training.

Edited by Houstonrider 2011-01-13 9:27 PM
2011-01-13 9:27 PM

User image

Veteran
Elizabethtown, KY

Getting faster is a result of conditioning your body to running.  You do that by . . . running . . . a lot

Mostly slow

Sometimes fast

In other words - focus on the mileage, not the speed.  Keep most of the runs easy to avoid injury, and maybe work in some speed training, but generally only after you have a reasonable base.

2011-01-13 9:55 PM

Akron, OH