General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Is my Max HR my Max Hr? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-09-29 4:01 PM

Veteran
Subject: Is my Max HR my Max Hr?

I got my heart rate up to 203 in a sprint the other day on my way to work.  I was doing some intervals after being off my bike for a while.

So is my max hr at least 203? 

2005-09-29 4:26 PM
in reply to: #256445

User image

Pro
Los Angeles, CA
Subject: RE: Is my Max HR my Max Hr?
Yes, I would think it's at least 203. Why, do you doubt the HR monitor reading?
2005-09-29 8:55 PM

User image

Pro
Virginia Beach, VA
203 is a bit higher than usual but not really that extreme.
2005-09-29 9:49 PM

User image

Elite

Some people have freakishly high heart rates.  I have a friend who's 45 and has a max heart rate of 195.  Lucky bastard... 

2005-09-29 10:49 PM

Veteran
Now, here's what happened the last few days. I'm new to the heart rate monitor thing. After I tested my max HR and found it was higher than I thought, I rode home from work (12.5 miles) trying to keep my pulse between 152 and 172 -- 75%-85% of my max. It hovered right around 165 the whole ride.

Each day, it seems like a bit more work to keep my heart rate up in that range. I have to go faster and work harder to get it that high. It could be just an illusion.

Does this mean that my aerobic capacity is increasing? If so, when do my legs start to keep up with my cardiovascular system?

Today, my heart rate wanted to stay around 155.

BTW, I'm also coming off of an injury where I was out for a little over a month.
2005-09-30 3:53 AM
in reply to: #256678

User image

Veteran
Gif-sur-Yvette
oipolloi - 2005-09-30 5:49 AM

Some people have freakishly high heart rates.  I have a friend who's 45 and has a max heart rate of 195.  Lucky bastard...