Ironman
65F / 18C
Overcast
Total Time = 6h 12m 26s
Overall Rank = 1279/1976
Age Group = 45-49
Age Group Rank = 0/
Pre-race routine:

Got up really early, ate oatmeal for breakfast, and had a cup of coffee. This is my first 1/2 and the longest race I have done and I have been focusing and training for this race for the past 5 months, so I was a little anxious in the morning.
Event warmup:

Stretching and walking
Swim
  • 41m 48s
  • 2000 meters
  • 02m 05s / 100 meters
Comments:

Had a really good first half of swim. The second half was tough for me to nagigate because of we were swimming right into the sun and the glare made it tough to see. Plus by this time, I was being overtaken by the swimmers in the other waves and was getting 'run over' a little bit. Overall, I was pleased with the swim. I was hoping for a 35-40 min swim and came close to that performance.
What would you do differently?:

Learn to swim faster.
Transition 1
  • 05m 38s
Comments:

This 5 minutes included about a 2 min run from the swim exit to the bike. I had a pretty good transition. It was going to be a long day and I wanted to make sure of all my pre race plans. Drank water and gaterade, took some Thermolite capsules, put on my shirt, socks, shoes, sunglasses, and gloves and make sure to buckle my helmut strap and was off.

If I was good enough to compete for the Age Group title and a trip to Kona (not likely) I would have concentrated on being faster, but that will probably not happen so I take my time a little bit and catch my breath.
Bike
  • 3h 07m 11s
  • 56 miles
  • 17.95 mile/hr
Comments:

Like the swim, had a great first half, averaging over 20mph for the first 25 miles or so. I was really trying to do this bike in under 3 hours, and thought I would do it until the last part. Sure did seem like I passed a lot of people, and did not seem to be passed by many. The bike is my best part of the tri, but after 3 hours I could not wait to get off the bike to start the run.