General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Controlling Heart Rate While Running Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-02-16 12:36 PM

Subject: Controlling Heart Rate While Running
Hi, I am new here. I am an "adult onset athlete" (to borrow a phrase from another post, lol) and I am training for several events that include running. I am planning to do a sprint tri in June, and my ultimate goal this year is to do an Olympic tri in September.

Since I am new to multisport training, I have been reading a lot here and in books. I have a heart rate monitor and am working on increasing my endurance. Here is my problem: if I walk briskly at 4.0 mph, I can keep my HR around 140 bpm. However, if I jog slowly (like 5.0 mph), my HR shoots up to 160-170! I don't feel like I am using that much more effort to jog than I am to walk. I know I can run 3 miles and my HR will stay high. But for a triathlon, it seems like I need to control my running HR or else I might run out of steam during the run (having already expended so much during swim and cycling).

I was wondering if you have any suggestions about how to train for the run given this information. Should I continue training at a low intensity even if it means walking? I am planning to do an 8k race at the end of April, so I really want to start running in a couple weeks (not just walking).

Thank you in advance for your feedback!

2006-02-16 12:48 PM
in reply to: #347386

User image

Champion
Montague Gold Mines, Nova Scotia
Subject: RE: Controlling Heart Rate While Running
Hi and welcome!

As far as the HR - you can try doing run/walk intervals. Run until your HR climbs too high (this will really just be a judgement call at this point) and then walk until it settles back down. Repeat until you've finished your scheduled time.