General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Help with Winter Cycling Program Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-11-13 9:17 AM

Jackson, Tn
Subject: Help with Winter Cycling Program

So starting on Monday, I will be starting JorgeM's HR winter cycling program, but I'm a little confused on the best way to do this and was looking for some good advice.  I'm going to post the data that I've got and let yall critique it.

I did the HR test yesterday and my avg HR was 166.  That gives me the following zones:Z1 -170.  Now, I'm brand new to this, so if this looks wrong, please let me know.

So as an example, this is the first day's workout:

WU:
10' @ 68-73% + 5' alternating 20" @ 106> %
40" @ 68-73% + 5' @ 80%

MS:
10x30" (30" Rest@ 75-80% FT) @ 95-100% + 10' @ 75-80%

CD:
5-10' @ 65%

My main question: What is the best way to time these workouts while making sure that I'm in a certain HR training zone?  I have the timex global trainer.  Is there some way to enter this workout into it so that it'll let me know when each interval/session is starting/stoping or when I've entered a certain zone?  Or is the best way just to have a screen with the interval time, current HR, etc?  Sorry if this doesn't make sense, I can't seem to explain it how I'd like.  But any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated!  TIA

2011-11-13 11:13 AM
in reply to: #3900133

User image

Pro
Wallingford, PA
Subject: RE: Help with Winter Cycling Program
Just keep it simple.... Keep your heart rate monitor visible, and display elapsed time or lap time if you want to hit the lap button between each interval.