UK Triathlon Forum England » Virgin tri and the Midland Sprint Series Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply
2011-12-26 3:14 AM

User image

England
Subject: Virgin tri and the Midland Sprint Series

Hi everyone, My name is Allen and i have just joined BT. I am 47, two stones overweight (which is a lot considering i am only 5'4'') a smoker and i am based in Mansfied, Notts.

I am totally new to the world of Triathlon and am attempting to go from couch potato to triathlete over the next few months.

My initial target is to enter the Midland Sprint series organised by One Step Beyond Promotions. The first race is in Lincoln on 22 April 2012 followed by Southwell on 13 May and finally Woodhall on 3rd June.

I dont expect to do any better than crawl across the finish line considering my current fitness level that leaves me out of breath after a jog to the chippy 150 m away!!! However that is about to change as i am following a BT training program and have joined one of the friendly beginner support groups.

Does anyone have any helpful suggestions or tips for a total beginner with no kit apart from a mountain bike (with puncture) in my shed.

Also is the series i am thinking of any good? The races are all sprints which i think is all i should be aiming for right now but i do hope to complete a full triathlon before the end of the year if i can stay injury free whilst training my body to change from lard arse to supreme athlete!!!

Looking forward to hopefully chatting with a few fellow brits as the BT website is heavily geared towards the US and it will be nice to get the opinions of others on where to go for decent kit etc. in England.

Thanks in advance and hope you are all having a nice Christmas.

I'm off for my first ever training session now which luckily consists of just a twenty minute walk according to my program.

2011-12-28 3:09 AM
in reply to: #3953725

User image

Subject: RE: Virgin tri and the Midland Sprint Series

Hi Allen.