General Discussion Triathlon Talk » IM training during the week Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-05-23 8:14 AM

User image

Subject: IM training during the week

I'm training for my first IM (IMFL) and have been using a coach as I'm fairly new to triathlons. I switched from marathons/ultras to tris last summer and completed every distance, including a 70.3.  When I got my 6 month IM plan from my coach, I was a little concerned that I won't be doing enough during the week. I'm not concerned about my wknd workouts, those are about what I expected.

I will add, with a troublesome foot/achilles, my coach is trying to keep me as healthy as possible. My Tues through Fri workouts (Monday is rest day) equal 6.5 hrs of training (2 bikes, 2 swims, 2 runs).

I was just wondering on average what others do during the week.

2012-05-23 8:37 AM
in reply to: #4224618

User image

Not a Coach
Media, PA
Subject: RE: IM training during the week

First, you should ask your coach about why they have you doing things a certain way.  They (should) have much better insight into your background, strengths, weaknesses and time availability.

Second, as you train for IM (or anything, really), do not worry much about what other people do.  Either on average or specifically.  Worry about doing what you can do--based on your background, health, other commitments, etc.  If you can handle more work, let your coach know.  Likewise, if it seems like too much, let them know that as well.

Finally, to sort of answer your question anyway, your Tues-Fri is not wildly out of line with what others might be doing for an IM.  Some do more.  Some do less.  If you can stay consistent and mostly injury-free, you will be in position to have a good day in FL.

2012-05-23 9:07 AM

User image