General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Saddle Sores for a beginner Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-06-18 12:16 PM

Veteran
Houston, TX
Subject: Saddle Sores for a beginner
Hi everyone,

I'm just getting started on my training for a sprint tri in Sept. I've done two bike rides, and it's not my legs or lungs that causes me stop, it's my tail! I've talked to a number of folks and they said it takes a bit to acclimate to the bike. I've have the LBS get things adjusted and fitted properly, but I was just wondering if there were any tips that any has to speed the acclimation?

I've already got a good pair of padded biking shorts and I am comfortable with the rest of the bike. ie aerobars, shoes, peddles etc.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Brittain

2004-06-18 12:40 PM
in reply to: #32250

User image

Champion
Ottawa, Ontario
Subject: RE: Saddle Sores for a beginner
Unfortunately there is nothing you can to rush matters. Your tush will adjust to it sooner or later. I have been riding for over 40 years and every spring I have to go through this for a few days. The best you can do is have someone (your significant other perhaps) give you a nice tush rub after a lenghty ride.
2004-06-18 1:03 PM

User image

Veteran
Lakeland, Florida
Time will take care of the problem. Don't try to do too much to quick, keep adding time (or distance) at a reasonable rate...and your butt will get in shape just like your quads and calfs. Good Luck, Stay with it.
2004-06-18 1:20 PM

Veteran
Columbus, Ohio
It will take time to adjust but a good seat will help too. If you find that your tail is still hurting in a month you may want to exchange the seat for something else.
2004-06-18 1:27 PM

Master
portland, or
Not to get personal, but for clarification by Saddle Sores do you mean your butt is sore from the saddle, or that you have actual sores (lesions, bumps, irritation) caused by the saddle? Two different problems.