General Discussion Triathlon Talk » thoughts on bikes styles Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-10-30 2:36 PM

User image

Veteran
Clemson
Subject: thoughts on bikes styles
So I'm a newb, finished my first tri, my first 5ks, my first mudruns, my first informal local club time trial, and my first gran fondo (50 miler) this year. It's been a great year, I had the time of my life and I'm now trying to figure out where I want to go with all this. Tris have always been my dream and biking is my passion, everything else is just icing.

I will only be doing sprint and oly distance for tris for the forseeable future and hope to get into some crits and other bike rides. I noticed during the olympics that most of the triathletes used road bikes, not the aero time trial bikes and didn't realize why until just recently during my my bike refit on my road bike when the guy said that for short distance I would probably be better off with a road bike that is comfortable rather than a TT bike.

So now not only am I actually thinking about taking off the clip ons I've been using and put my seat back to standard road position, trying this out Eddy Merxx style, I'm thinking that as much as I would love another bike especially an aero bike, it seems I will be better off with what I have.

Anyone else come to this realization and go with it or come to this realization and ignore it and bought the aero bike anyway? I'd love to hear thoughts on this.

2012-10-30 2:57 PM
in reply to: #4475511

User image

Champion
Sarasota, FL
Subject: RE: thoughts on bikes styles

They use road bikes (or bikes with shorty bars) in the Olympics because it is a draft-legal race, not because they're more comfortable.

I think you got some bogus advice from your fitter. 

Mark

2012-10-30 2:58 PM

User image

Expert
Greenville, SC