General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swim vid... be gentle Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2013-01-31 8:21 PM

User image

NE Ohio
Subject: Swim vid... be gentle
I'm a 57 year old self taught swimmer.... which will evident in a minute. ;')

I am a bit frustrated with my progress based on my time and effort I've put into my swimming.

I just got a copy, and saw for the 1st time last night, a copy of my swim video from about 7-8 weeks ago.
I knew it wouldn't be pretty, but...
The biggest thing that sticks out to me is the degree to which I'm scissoring my kick.

I think seeing the vid will in itself be a huge assist in developing my swim.
But, I figured I would enlist the collective genius of this site to tell me what to focus on first,
and how to go about correcting my biggest flaws.

Thanks for any help!

http://youtu.be/DeLGH4PTZ0A

2013-01-31 8:41 PM
in reply to: #4603541

User image

Chicago, Colorado
Subject: RE: Swim vid... be gentle

Self-taught? Not bad! I'm one month away from finishing a 15 year competitive swimming career and here's what I got for ya.

1. Body roll-  You want your body to rotate along your Y axis (think top of head to your feet)  You seem to stop at your hips.  You want your legs to rotate with you.  You want a smooth roll from side to side, even the side you don't breathe to.  This will maximize the amount of water you catch with each stroke.  

2.  Arm catch-  Speaking of catching water, the bigger the surface area the faster you will go.  I noticed you bend your wrists while pulling.  Try to keep a flat surface from your fingertips to your elbow.  One of my best coaches told me imagine you are grabbing big blocks on either side of your lane and pulling each one past you as you move down the lane.  Make sure you finish each stroke down by your hip.  (don't forget to roll!)