General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Open Water Swimming Group in Galveston Area? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-03-05 9:57 PM

User image

New user

South Texas
Subject: Open Water Swimming Group in Galveston Area?

I'm just getting into Tri training, and I have yet to find a safe place to swim. I live in LaMarque, so I'm roughly the same distance from Kemah and Galveston. If anyone has a swimming group I'd love to join.

If not, then I'd like some advice on places for solo training in the area. I've been investigating the Offatts bayou area, but some BOIs have told me that its not a good place to swim. Any advice?

2013-03-06 3:20 AM
in reply to: #4648056

User image

Expert
The Woodlands, TX
Subject: RE: Open Water Swimming Group in Galveston Area?
Try 288 lake.
2013-03-06 9:19 AM
in reply to: #4648144

User image

New user

South Texas
I've considered 288 Lake. The problem is that it is about a half hour drive. I was looking for something closer, like Kemah or Galveston. Both of which are about 10 minutes away. Lake 288 would be a training session I'd only be able to make it to on weekends with my schedule.
2013-03-14 2:33 PM

User image

New user

South Texas

UPDATE

I wasn't able to find a place to do open water swim training, but I did swing by the Lowry Fitness Center in Texas City. They have a very nice Natatorium. After my first early morning visit, and swim, I got a membership. So far so good. I now have a place to work on my technique.

2013-03-17 10:43 PM
in reply to: #4659985

User image

Master
Houston

Sylvan beach.

It is in La Porte and has a little roped off area that is WAY too crowded.  But if you duck under the rope and swim on the outside you have plenty of open water.

Of course this is salt water.

Twin lakes is probably a little closer to you than 288.  Maybe save you 10 mins.  But 288 is better than twin.  Twin is cheaper though.