General Discussion Triathlon Talk » heart rate on the bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2003-11-30 5:53 AM

User image

Elite Veteran
Northern Va/Metro D.C.
Subject: heart rate on the bike
hi everyone,

is there a "norm" or standard of hear rate zone when on the bike? also, what's a good rpm to shoot for?

2003-11-30 3:24 PM
in reply to: #2164

User image

Central Louisiana
Subject: RE: heart rate on the bike
I usually shoot for 75-90 percent of my max. I try to spin from 85 to 90 rpms.

Still Tri'n
Michael
2003-12-01 8:31 AM

Extreme Veteran
Fort Wayne, IN
I am new to the HRM training (1week in) but if you look at Scott Herricks article on HRM is will give you some good insight. For instance many have different maximum's for different events. The cycling and running might be close but you need to find what they are. For me, I am working on getting used to the monitor and using the pre-established zones in my monitor until I get used to the process in practice. Then I plan on finding my true max and will work from there. There are others on this site who have been using HRM's much more than me but the article I use/d is:
http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/Scott%20Herrick/scott.htm
Good luck.
2003-12-02 8:27 AM

User image

Expert
Rockledge, Fl
You will need to find your personal target heart rates. For me, cycling HR is 20-30 bpm lower than running for same exertion level. It is hard for me to get my heart rate above 150 on the bike, but can do it easily running.
2003-12-04 9:41 PM

Expert
NC Illinois
I have read where each person should find their max heart rate through a stress test, and I have read where people in their first year of trianing should avoid the stress test. I am new to triathlon training, so I don't know where to stand on this.