General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Multiple bike related questions Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-05-26 9:10 PM

Subject: Multiple bike related questions
Hello,

I've been training for a few weeks now on a friend's bike (who is about the same size I am).
He basically wasn't using it anymore and told be I could borrow until I get my own bike.
The Bike is a 2005 Giant TCR C3 (road bike with a carbon frame and 105 groupset).
I'm pretty happy with it and I don't need anything more now.
My goal, although I'm new to triathlon, is to get competitive in my age group (just turned 30).
I intend to keep this bike probably for this season and the next one before getting a TT bike.

So here are my questions:
- Would it make sense to get retul fitted now knowing that I will be using this road bike for? Or should I just get a "regular fit"?
- Currently, my lower back becomes tense as I ride, what are the things to look at to try to relieve that pressure?
- When I'm riding (at a medium effort), I'm averaging about 16mph, which must be pretty terrible because everybody and their grandparents pass me, especially on climbs. Am I missing something??? (I'm trying to keep my cadence in the upper 70s-80's range).
- I'm interested in acquiring a power meter: this bike has a GXP bottom bracket, if I get a Quarq will I be able to use it on most bikes afterwards? (without getting fitted I'm most attracted to the BMC TM02).

That's it for now! (I think )
Thank you all for your advices,
Cheers
Andre

2013-05-26 9:44 PM
in reply to: Dayday83

Regular
Seal Beach
Subject: RE: Multiple bike related questions
Hi Andre,
Welcome to BT. I guess my question for you is what do you mean competitive in your age group? What is competitive in your eyes? Make Kona? Top 1/3 finish in the age group? Or finish races? What events are you looking to do? Sprints? 140.6?