General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Looking for advice on first triathlon bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-06-26 6:06 AM

User image

Subject: Looking for advice on first triathlon bike
Hi. I've been training for triathlons for 2 years now, and this is my second season racing. So far I've done two sprints, one oly, one off-road tri and one HIM. This season I have one oly, one HIM and one IM left. I come from a swimming background, and I'm a pretty good runner (HM 1:30), but i really suck on the bike. I ride a nishiki cyclocross (with aerobars, mostly for practice) and a colnago roadbike from the 80's . I try to ride 150-250km every week, and I can maintain a speed of about 30kmph. My longest rides are 90km. For the ironman I've been aiming to increase total milage and do longer rides, but the bikes arn't fitted to me. Long rides cause discomfort and I'm a bit scared to get injured without a good fit. Thus I decided to abandom my idea of getting a superbike in the future, and I'll settle for an entry level bike (for now :D )

I've had my eyes on the canyon speedmax al 8 for a year now. I really like the bike, but the problem is I canlt try it before i order it. The geometry says nothing to me, and I was hoping to get a little help with that. I live in Finland, and very few stores stock tri bikes. The only bike I found was the felt b16, which seems like a good choice.

I'm 173 and my inseam is 89. I was thinking of getting a bikefit after I get the bike and new shoes, but should I do the fitting first? Not really sure what the best option is...

Here is a link to the canyon. I really like it, but if the felt is a much better option I might have to reconsider.

https://www.canyon.com/_en/triathlonbikes/bike.html?b=3069

2013-06-26 6:18 AM
in reply to: JPanula

User image

Champion
Knoxville area
Subject: RE: Looking for advice on first triathlon bike