General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Open Water Swimming Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-07-04 7:31 PM

Subject: Open Water Swimming
Hey guys,
I'm new to triathlon I have my first sprint distance in 2 weeks, I am also registered for an Olympic distance in a month. I am a strong runner and I've become quite comfortable on the bike (avg 28-30 km/hr). I am also a good swimmer in the pool but I had my first open water swim a few days ago, a 500m, and it went horrible. Just couldn't get in the swing of it and found the wetsuit every hard to adjust too. Is this normal for the first time?

2013-07-04 8:18 PM
in reply to: wsd314

User image

Extreme Veteran
Westchester, NY
Subject: RE: Open Water Swimming
Yes. You are normal. Pool swims are easy. OWS swimming is somewhat difficult because there is no wall, no lane and no line.
The wetsuit thing is something you will have to get used to or get a better fitting one. For sprints, don't use one. Unless its cold.
Find a group OWS near you and get used to it.
2013-07-04 8:54 PM
in reply to: louamerica

I joined a group and the water is cold where I'm too. The wetsuit is needed. Thanks.
2013-07-05 8:04 AM

User image

Expert
Ontario Canada
Yes Very Very Common, get in the water early when you go to your group swim if you can, float around in the wetsuit for awhile to get used to it, warm up a bit close to shore while waiting for the group swim to start, its amazing 15 to 20 minutes in the water before the swim starts will relax you a lot. also the more OWS swims you do the easier it will become it took me about 4 OWS to get really comfortable in the water, even the first swim this year after more then 20 OWS's last year was a disaster for me with a couple of panic attacks where I just had to roll over on My back and float for a bit to gather it back up but the next week after that it was like back to being old Hat again with no problems what so ever.
2013-07-05 8:44 AM

User image