General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Achilles tendonitis Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-08-15 8:55 PM

User image

Veteran
Houston, TX
Subject: Achilles tendonitis
Anyone ever have Achilles tendonitis? I think I am suffering from that now.

I have my first Olympic distance triathlon in 5 weeks so I am starting to stress about missing so much training.

How long it take to get better and what did you do? I have been using ice, compression socks, foam roller on a ad- hoc basis but don't really have a set plan to treat it.

Should I stretch it? I've been lightly cycling, staying in zone 1. Is that okay?

2013-08-15 10:04 PM
in reply to: chris00nj

User image

Veteran
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Subject: RE: Achilles tendonitis
I ruptured mine in Feb of this year so I have some experience with it. First off, don't play with you achilles....its been a long recovery for me. The recommended rest for tendonitis is 4 weeks; I know a member of my mentorship group had this and he was fine after 4 weeks of no running/biking. I'd suggest swimming and the elliptical as your main cardio for the next month. Those were my mainstays after my surgery (I was allowed to bike as well but I found that it did bother my achilles at times) Good luck with this!
2013-08-16 7:26 AM

User image

I had some inflammation on my Achilles and I used night splints to alleviate the pain. I took 3 days off of running/biking and eased back into my routine for another week before training full time.

They are a little awkward to use, but they REALLY helped.

I used this one:

http://www.amazon.com/Active-Ankle-Dorsal-Night-Splint/dp/B0015TESE4/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1376655855&sr=8-3&keywords=night+splint
2013-08-16 7:49 AM
in reply to: LPJmom

User image