General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Building Base? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-09-30 8:05 PM

User image

Subject: Building Base?
so, I'm new at all this- I'm just getting started training for some stuff next summer, and a 10K this fall (turkey trot) just for fun. I started out with a Cto5K in the spring through mid summer, now my long run is 7 miles, with 3 mile runs on 2 other days during the week, 2 bike rides a week (10-15 miles training and sometimes another 10 slow bike with my son), and just getting started with swims.

Next summer I'd like to do a half marathon in the beginning of June, a couple sprints (one in July, 1 in August) and then a marathon in October. Seems like a lot, but spread OK, maybe?

Anyway, I'm reading and hearing a bunch about the winter time being a base building time- what do you mean by that? And what kind of base would be thinking of for my type of goals for next summer? I'm not looking for record times or anything, just finishing without collapsing!

2013-09-30 8:08 PM
in reply to: el penguino

User image

Subject: RE: Building Base?
With marathon in the future you definitely strong running base. Good running fitness and being able to train for marathon requires slow, consistent improvements and building in your running. This takes months and months to do properly.
2013-09-30 9:22 PM

User image

Regular
Pueblo, Colorado
Building Base means putting in a lot of volume in terms of running. Since you are relatively new to this, winter would be a good time to start working on this. The key to this is the "long run." You might consider starting at your current long run (7 miles) and doing a slightly longer run each week with one easy week built in every now and then. It might look something like this:

Week 1: 7 miles
Week 2: 8-9 miles
Week 3: 9-10 miles
Week 4: 7 miles
Week 5: 10-11 miles
  • . . and so on.