General Discussion Triathlon Talk » IM nutrition Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-10-28 11:30 PM

Subject: IM nutrition
Well I've had some experience in the past with nutrition for long races but was never really able to get it down real good. I was thinking that for next year's Ironman I want to rely primarily on liquid nutrition supplemented by some gels and solid food on the bike ride. While on the run I know I'll only be able to tolerate drinks based on my experiences. I've been thinking about using infinit nutrition for my primary fuel on the ride. How has it worked for my fellow IM athletes and how does this general plan sound going into my winter training? I know throughout the year I'll have to experiment with my nutrition to some extent.

2013-10-29 8:52 AM
in reply to: Trigirl91

User image

Alpharetta, Georgia
Bronze member
Subject: RE: IM nutrition

I've used Infinit for years - both the HIM and IM distances. The pros are that it's easy and simple, customized to you and your needs (so easy on the stomach for most folks), and is able to be concentrated. So instead of carrying 6, one-hour bottles for a long ride, you can carry 2, three-hour bottles just by increasing the powder to water ratio. 

The cons are that it's a little pricey (if you can, wait to buy when they have their off-season 40% off sale) and can get a little boring. I find myself on rides longer than 5 hours needing a different taste in my mouth, so will bring along a Payday candy bar or Sports Beans or a gel with a completely different flavor.

I typically don't start using it until workouts hit the 3-hour mark but you could definitely test it out on shorter stuff. I've never used it on the run but I know others have - again you might need a back up as I've read about people just getting sick of the taste after 10 hours of nothing but the same drink.

2013-10-30 11:09 AM
in reply to: Trigirl91

User image

Master
Nashville, TN
i second the use of infinit