General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Lacate threadhold treadmill testing Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-11-05 9:20 PM

User image

Subject: Lacate threadhold treadmill testing
Ok, tonight was treadmill test night. I've never done a LT test before so that was a first for me. I was trying to find my lactate threshold but I don't know for sure if I can tell anything from this test. Results are here:

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-6UqmisarD-ZG83ZVczVDZaUnM/edit?usp...

There appears to be two outliers since my HR settled back into the strait line in the next point. Going off my notes (Training Bible), LT should be about 5 data points from my max and the spot about where I start to breath more heavily. A spike in HR is also supposed to happen but I don't see that, if I ignore those two outliers. Since I didn't have anyone next to me, I just noted in my head when I thought my breathing became labored (9.2 mph). I plan to do these every 4 weeks. It seems like I can go off when my breathing got labored but it would have been nice to see a sustained jump in HR. Do you guys think that 171 is the number I should go with? The highest HR I ever hit was 183 from a mile repeat a few months ago and I'm sure my fitness has changed since then. I got close to my previous max though. So maybe next time I can get one or two more bumps in.

2013-11-06 7:39 AM
in reply to: 0

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: Lacate threadhold treadmill testing
I doubt you can get your LTHR by just plotting HR against pace and looking for a spike. You could use this test to track progress however. But use it with a grain of salt, there is a lot of variability with HR.

There are some test protocols such as the avg HR of the last 20min of a 30min all out run.

FWIW, I have had my LT tested in lab., May max HR was 185 and LTHR 172, so those numbers are close to your approximations. But we are probably different runners

Also, in my test, my HR did not spike at LTHR.