General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Resistance trainer setup questions Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2013-11-14 7:12 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
West Michigan
Subject: Resistance trainer setup questions

I'm new to trainers and have a few questions around setup.  I don't know the model, however it's a blackburn and believe it's a magnetic resistance trainer with the resistance adjuster on the back, no way to adjust while riding.

*  How much PSI is needed if I'm using an old roadie tire?  Will the tire wear faster with too low or too high PSI?

*  It came with a skewer, is this recommended and does it provide a benefit other than not scratching up my wheel's skewer? 

*  Do I need to have my front tire at the exact elevation from the floor that the rear is or is "close" good enough? 

*  When the resistance is set, is it expected that I would be able to switch gears to increase resistance or is it typically find your groove gear and just spin in that gear the whole time?  I ask because as I experimented with the resistance setting it was either too "light" and the pedal cadence wasn't fluid....Conversely when I cranked it down harder, it seemed that as I moved through a few of my bigger gears there wasn't much difference in resistance compared to same gear changes on the road.

I could probably answer a lot of my own quetsions over time however with all the experience out there I thought it would be quicker to ask the experts....

As for my trainer plans, the goal is to ride the trainer 2x during the week (assuming I get it set up properly and comfortable, 1-1.5 hours per ride) and then hit the streets on the weekends when it's light out....

Thanks for any responses and advice. 

2013-11-14 8:00 AM
in reply to: TriMike

User image

Exton, PA
Subject: RE: Resistance trainer setup questions
Originally posted by TriMike