BT Development Mentor Program Archives » KiterChick's beginner friendly group - CLOSED Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 11

2013-12-19 3:37 PM

User image

Veteran
Boston, MA
Subject: KiterChick's beginner friendly group - CLOSED
GROUP FOCUS: I'd like this group to focus on beginners, either those new to the sport or those wanting to move up to a new distance

NAME: KiterChick/Sarah

STORY: I started doing triathlons in 2011 after getting bored with distance running alone. I found I really enjoyed biking as well, although I'm admittedly still a pretty slow swimmer. I've done a lot of sprints, several HIMs and one IM. I'd like to help out beginners, since I feel that my experience will (hopefully!) be helpful, but I'm still relatively new to the sport, relatively, so I also remember what it's like to just be starting out.

FAMILY STATUS: Single, although I do have an awesome boyfriend!

CURRENT TRAINING: When I'm actively training, I usually average five days a week. This past year has been pretty lax, lately with a recent move and the holidays, but I'm signed up for Eagleman in June, so I plan to get serious again by January. This past year, I took it easy and stuck to sprints, but this year, I have Eagleman and the B2B ride (148M) planned in June and the Philadelphia Marathon in November. I'll likely do a few sprints as well.

THIS YEAR'S RACES: My last race of the season was the Title 9 sprint in Hopkinton, MA. I really took this past year easy after the IM in 2012.

2014 RACES: First race of the season will be the NE Season Opener in May in Hopkinton, MA. After that, I may have one more sprint, then Eagleman in June!

WEIGHTLOSS: I put on 5-10 lbs. after my IM over a year ago and, while I haven't gained anymore significant weight, I haven't lost it either. I'm hoping when training ramps up starting in January that I'll get more strict about finally dropping the extra weight I put on.