BT Development Mentor Program Archives » McFuzz's New Athlete Group (CLOSED) Rss Feed  
Moderators: alicefoeller Reply

of 21

2013-12-31 9:57 AM

User image

Champion
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Bronze member
Subject: McFuzz's New Athlete Group (CLOSED)

I'm McFuzz (Mike). Who am I? I'm a lot of things. Professionally, I'm an engineer (Electrical). I just turned 49 and my boys are young adults. I'm a Boy Scout leader and have spent a lot of time with kids in Scouting and as an advisor to a service fraternity. I was active in high-school, running track and cross-country and worked as a lifeguard and swim instructor, but never swam competitively (to be honest...I still don't swim "competitively") I did my first triathlon in 2005 after getting ready for a backpacking trip with my son. I was hooked. Hooked enough to recruit my training buddy for a second tri in 2005 and signed up for a half-ironman as my 2006 goal. Did a few races in 2006, one in 2007, none in 2008 (another backpacking trip), and Ironman Coeur D'Alene in 2009. I did Vineman in 2011. 2012 and 2013 were transition years with new jobs and new addresses, so not a lot of triathlon training or racing. My training philosophy is largely a reflection of life. A little structure, a lot of chaos, and a lot of smiling and laughing. I swim/bike/run because I like the activity and I like to eat. I like to dream, and I'm a firm believer in identifying my innermost goals and figuring out a way to make them happen. I know I'm capable of a 12-hour Ironman. It didn’t happen in 2009 or 2011, but I’m considering B2B for 2014. I expect to run a marathon or ultramarathon or two in 2014. Weightloss? I'll shed a few pounds as training picks up. I lost 35 pounds getting ready for that 2005 backpacking trip and have kept most of it off the last 8 years. Why do I mentor, and why join my group? I mentor because I like helping people grow. As a swim instructor, it was all about releasing that untapped talent. Hasn't really changed in 3