General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Kurt Kinetic Speed question (and power, too) Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-01-06 6:39 PM

User image

Regular
Subject: Kurt Kinetic Speed question (and power, too)
Santa brought me a Kurt Kinetic Road Machine for Christmas, and so far I'm liking it. Stable, smooth and quiet.

My questions:

1. When I ride outside, I usually average around 19 mph. (I'm still a cycling newbie, but I'm working on it. ) On the KK, I rode around 15 mph, with what I thought was pretty good Rate of Perceived Exertion, similar to my 19 mph rides. Anyone else notice this with their KK Road Machine, or am I just dogging it?

2. I found two different formulas online to convert speed to power for the KK Road Machine, I'm using this one in an excel spreadsheet: P=S^3*0.019168+S*5.24482. Is this the correct one? How accurate is this power estimation?

Thanks, BT!

2014-01-07 7:15 AM
in reply to: DannyII

User image

Regular
Subject: RE: Kurt Kinetic Speed question (and power, too)
(I moved this thread to tri talk)
2014-02-14 2:10 PM

User image

Hey,

I dont have a whole lot of input as i am a cycling noob too. I have noticed the same thing however. I was riding about 20 mph on the road. I got my trainer for Christmas and it was kicking my but at 18 mph. I normally can get a descent ride in at 16 mph. Maybe we will get some good info here.
2014-02-14 3:03 PM

User image

Pro
, New Hampshire
Speed is not a very good indicator for indoor training. Time and power is a whole lot better… so don't stare at your 16mph vs. 19mph outdoors.