General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First Tri Bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-02-09 8:03 AM

Subject: First Tri Bike
I think it goes without saying that because I'm here, I'm a beginner triathlete. I am looking into buying my first tri bike and am a little at a loss about what to look for.

I've stumbled upon a 2005 QR Tequillo which is around what I'm comfortable paying. I have no idea what I need to look for or ask as far as components or if what they're asking is really a fair price.

Again it's my first bike so I'm not looking to spend a ton of money and get all the bells and whistles. I just want something that I can ride that isn't a huffy.

If anyone has any suggestion, I'm more than open.

I'm also not entirely sure of the size I would need. I'm 6'2" and pretty leggy. The local bike store said that I would probably need a 60, but the bike that I've found is a 58 and from what I've read other places that should be fine as well.

THANKS!

2014-02-09 8:31 AM
in reply to: MicahSLamb

User image

Pro
, New Hampshire
Subject: RE: First Tri Bike
Originally posted by MicahSLamb

I'm also not entirely sure of the size I would need. I'm 6'2" and pretty leggy. The local bike store said that I would probably need a 60, but the bike that I've found is a 58 and from what I've read other places that should be fine as well.

There's no standard as to what the size denomination means, so a 58 from one brand may fit similar to a 56 from another, 60 from a 3rd, large from a 4th, XL from a 5th, etc. Even if you look at the geometry chart, it's still not that simple… you have 4 common but very different ways of measure, center-to-center, center-to-top, center-to-virtual point and virtual point-to-virtual point. So even if two bikes show for example a 58cm top tube, they may be quite different in actual length…

Get a bike fit first and THEN start looking for bikes that fit YOU.
New Thread
General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First Tri Bike Rss Feed