General Discussion Triathlon Talk » nutrition for dummies Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-02-16 5:03 PM

User image

Subject: nutrition for dummies
So my question is just how it sounds. I've ran a marathon and tons of other runs. Completed a bunch of sprints and I'm signed up for my first half in May. I have little to no experience with nutrition for long bikes/runs. When I was training for my marathon I kind of winged it and didn't know about nutrition. I know everyone is different but is there some generalization when it comes to long bike/run nutrition? Thanks as usual for your wisdom to a newbie.

2014-02-16 6:06 PM
in reply to: #4950374

User image

New user
Subject: RE: nutrition for dummies
Certainly not an expert here, but what I took from all I've read here and elsewhere is that a good starting point for the bike is ~250-300 cals/hour, then I think about ~200 cals/hour on the run. Lots of people say don't start taking cals on the bike until about 20-30 mins in b/c your body is still adjusting to the change in position from the swim to the bike (i've always followed that rule). Play around with different calorie amounts and sources to see what works for you. Lots of good detailed threads on this stuff on these boards that I remember reading over the summer.
2014-02-16 6:21 PM
in reply to: SR2518

User image

Miami
Very simplified: 8 ounces of sport drink per hour + 1 gel/bar per hour. Make sure that what you are eating/drinking have the nutrients that your body needs (carbs, sodium, and potassium especially).

I usually drink sports drink right after the swim and eat the hardest to digest nutrition first (bars/banana) during the first few miles of the bike course. After that, I mostly take gels (easier to digest).
2014-02-16 7:45 PM

User image

Pro
Melbourne FL
Gold member

Take a read through the Hammer nutrition guide.  Some good info between the marketing lines.

2014-02-17 7:29 AM
in reply to: davidfedez

User image

Master