General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Base Training Advice Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-02-23 3:29 PM

User image

Subject: Base Training Advice
So I'm completely new to triathlons and plan to compete in the Pinehurst International Triathlon (1500m swim / 30m bike / 10k run) in 32 weeks. I want to do 19-20 Weeks of base training, a week off, then 12 weeks of with interval training.

Anyways, I am want to get some opinions on how I should organize my base training. I would like to swim/bike/run 3x a week for base training. I have to do my long swim after church on Saturdays, my long run with my track coach Sundays, and would like one day of rest a week. Other than that, my training plan is pretty open. Here is my current plan:

Sunday: Long Run
Monday: Long Bike
Tuesday: Day Off
Wednesday: Medium Swim - Short Bike
Thursday: Medium Run - Short Swim
Friday: Medium Bike - Short Run
Saturday: Long Swim

Due to school and work, I have to do this training in the evenings. Is this trianing plan on the right track?
Thanks!

Edited by HGrahamR 2014-02-23 3:30 PM

2014-02-23 4:30 PM
in reply to: HGrahamR

User image

Coach
Stairway to Seven
Subject: RE: Base Training Advice
This will work fine. There is no magic you are missing if you are defining "base training" as being of a specific speed and you want to do each actiity 3x per week. YOu'll improve.

Track your training and do assessments and if/when you plateau with this plan, change it up.

Personally with that kidn of time, I'd do 1 month of your weekly plan to establish a routine, do testing, discover which sports need attention whether it's technique, flexibility, endurance, speed, etc.

if you are already running a 5k at 21 minutes for example, but your swimming is 2:10 / 100. Swim 4-5 times a week and run twice.

Don't lock into 5 months of training too soon, be flexible.

On the other hand, if you were able to just follow this as you'll finish your tri just fine.