Tucson, Arizona
United States
Precipitation
Total Time = 00m
Overall Rank = /175
Age Group =
Age Group Rank = 0/
Pre-race routine:

Training went very well. Got in all my mileage and long runs and two weeks prior to the race, felt about as prepared as one can be. However- I went on a ski vacation 2 weeks prior to race day- got in 5 days of skiing (instead of running) which I figured was fine. However- I tweaked my back something fierce. Spent the whole final week as horizontal as possible and on ibuprofen doing hot and cold compresses. So- going to toe the starting line with absolutely no running for 2 weeks prior to race day. Also- weather forecast is miserable. It's always sunny and nice here in Tucson- but race day is predicted to be rainy with howling winds. None of the local shops even sell rain shells. Bought a semi-water resistant light shell at Fleet Feet- just to have something, and found an old wide brimmed hat. Just freaky- I have no experience running trails in the wet. I'm a dust runner.

Thursday night started laying out my drop bags. Way too complicated. Need to simplify the whole thing and carry most of what I need.

Back was feeling weak, painful and generally poor the day prior. Come race morning, however, it was OK. Serviceable. Ate cereal, juice, coffee an a banana for breakfast and drove the hour or so to race start. Handed in all my drop bags and was ready to head out in the dark.
Event warmup:

Stood around and chatted for a while. Turned on my headlamp. Hit the woods for a last potty break. I guess that's all the 'warm up' needed?
Run
  • 00m
  • 51 miles
  •  min/mile
Comments: