General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Fins or No Fins? (Newbie Question) Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-03-03 1:34 AM

Subject: Fins or No Fins? (Newbie Question)
I'm a newbie that will participate in my first triathlon in June. (Sprint/Mini-Sprint) I'm also a weak swimmer. One of the swimming coaches at my local Y suggested I swim with fins in the pool. What do you think? How does this help me to get better?

2014-03-03 7:56 AM
in reply to: angewinte

User image

Expert
Ontario Canada
Subject: RE: Fins or No Fins? (Newbie Question)
You are going to get yes and no on this one for sure . For me because I had virtually no Kick and little leg strength at all it certainly helped when I first started out swimming, I used a small Zoomer fin to swim Laps with and a larger fin to do Kick drills till my leg strength got better. Now I just use the Zoomers for Kick drills and swim laps finless, so it did help me out doing this.
2014-03-03 9:14 AM

User image

Exton, PA
I will say this every time, learn to swim before using any training equipment such as fins, paddles, and pull buoy's. Many people here have become dependent on these items and when it comes time to swim without them they can barely move.

Once you can swim I feel paddles(with or without pull buoy) are fine, but don't use it for more than about 30% of your swimming.

I don't see any use for fins in most situations(definitely not beginners), If you want to work on your kick than pick up a kick board and kick. I would suggest you develop a good kick before focusing on the rest of the stroke.

2014-03-03 9:14 AM

User image

Exton, PA
I will say this every time, learn to swim before using any training equipment such as fins, paddles, and pull buoy's. Many people here have become dependent on these items and when it comes time to swim without them they can barely move.