General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Training for multi-stage races Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-04-12 8:04 PM

User image

Subject: Training for multi-stage races
I'm thinking of signing up for the Battle of Waterloo in Michigan this summer. It's 42 miles over 10 legs: run-bike-swim-run-swim-run-swim-run-bike-run. How do you train for something like that? I know I can cover the total individual distances involved. Would you simulate the short legs with changes between? Would you want to cover the entire time you expect to be out there racing while in training? FWIW I've been racing sprints for 5 years but have never done a longer tri. I've also run many half marathons and done a Gran Fondo.

2014-04-12 8:31 PM
in reply to: carriecook

Subject: RE: Training for multi-stage races
Sounds confusing.
2014-04-12 8:37 PM

User image

Master
Overland Park, KS
I doubt there's a training plan for that but what I would do is estimate the time I will be out there and come up with a decent hydration/nutrition plan. When I do swims post run workouts I have a higher potential for cramps etc. so make sure you're plenty hydrated.
2014-04-13 5:16 PM
in reply to: reecealan

User image

New user
I would do some triple bricks (I do them to train for regular triathlons but think they'd be especially useful here). Bike/run/bike/run/bike/run (usually 10/1-2 miles). Also, do some swims tired (after bike/runs) so you can know how that feels. I've seen some of these events and they sound way fun, but I haven't done one, but that's what I would focus on if I was registered.
2014-04-14 6:02 AM

User image

Originally posted by carriecook