General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Join a Tri club? First triathlon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-04-20 6:56 AM

Subject: Join a Tri club? First triathlon
Hi all,

I'm new to triathlons after competing in other sports such as rowing and thought to ask the following question:

Would you advise joining a tri-club before your first tri or simply training along across the 3 disciplines and then maybe joining after?

I live in Paris and then are 2-3 clybs here.

Thanks in advance.

2014-04-20 7:15 AM
in reply to: Eclipse

User image

Groton, New York
Subject: RE: Join a Tri club? First triathlon
I don't think it is a bad idea to join a club...particularly one that actively sends out emails about group training opportunities. Our local club sends out weekly emails about group runs, rides, or swims that you can take part in. They are open to all levels, so sometimes there will be an "easy" ride for beginners, and a longer ride for the more advanced etc. etc. During the summer months the group meets twice a week for an organized open swim night where half the group does an open water swim and the other half of the group paddles along side then in canoes as support boats. Then on the way back, the two groups switch, so everyone gets a change at getting in an open water swim training session with the safety of having a support boat near them. It is nice to be able to ask for advice from other group members as well. Of course you can get plenty of advice here on this forum as well, but it is nice getting to meet some local triathletes if you can. Like I said...you don't NEED to sign up with the local club, but it might be helpful. It certainly won't hurt.
2014-04-20 7:16 AM
in reply to: Eclipse

User image

Expert
Floriduh