United States
81F / 27C
Sunny
Total Time = 3h 05m 12s
Overall Rank = /
Age Group =
Age Group Rank = 0/
Pre-race routine:

Im a sophomore at Cal State Fullerton played baseball my whole life and raced motocross. In November I had a serious accident almost paralyzing myself. I had surgery on a compound fracture on my collar bone and wasn't allowed to ride a motorcycle for an unknown amount of time so I decided to attempt a triathlon to cross off my bucket list. I found the race online and had 12 weeks to train.

Woke up at 4:50, showered and made toast with nutella, apples with peanut butter, and a fiber one bar. Loaded bike onto rack was on the road at 5:30 and parked at 6. Set up my transition and relaxed till around 7 as my line went off around 7:20.
Event warmup:

Wrote numbers, put on sunblock, put on wetsuit, stretched a little, and swam around 100 meters. Typically don't warm up a lot.
Swim
  • 27m 36s
  • 1500 meters
  • 01m 50s / 100 meters
Comments:

The lake was extremely foggy which made it difficult to see buoys early in the morning but sun came out 10 minutes before the start. I don't usually warm up a lot and felt very comfortable with my short swim the day before. I had a good starting position and had a solid start. However, after the first 300 meters I began to struggle. I couldn't find my stroke or my breath and had to turn onto my back four times and was losing a bunch of ground and time. I got to about 600 meters in and finally got comfortable. I swam the rest of the way without stopping and paced with another guy while passing back others.
What would you do differently?:

In my practice swim I swam the course in 33 minutes, so an improvement of over 5 minutes was awesome as this was my worst leg of the race.
Transition 1
  • 03m 56s
Comments: