General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Paleo diet, what do you eat during workouts? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-07-06 10:33 PM

Subject: Paleo diet, what do you eat during workouts?
I've been eating on the paleo type diet for around 6 months and it has been great so far.

I had numerous digestive IBS type symptoms and since cutting out cereals, lentils, dairy, etc I've felt much better.

However, I'm struggling with ideas on what to eat and drink during 3-4 hour bike rides and brick sessions in the weekends.

What fuel should I be using if I want to follow this type of diet?

2014-07-07 8:58 AM
in reply to: elliot.power

Regular
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Subject: RE: Paleo diet, what do you eat during workouts?
You might try some dried fruit, unsweetened coconut flakes? some almonds or other nut. I usually stick with plain water for most fluid, if you need more maybe some broth.
2014-07-08 12:07 PM

User image

Alpharetta, Georgia
Bronze member

Not a lot of non-messy choices out there, but you could bring bagged cooked sweet potato cubes, dates, bananas, hard boiled eggs, (nitrate free) jerky sticks. Coconut water for a natural electrolyte drink. You could also make a Paleo banana or quick bread (lots of recipes on Pinterest) and carry chunks of that. 

I did a half marathon on dates and jerky once - it was fine but only a few hours. A longer bike ride is going to be rough on Paleo.

2014-07-09 6:52 AM

User image

Fairfax, VA
Bronze member

I made these apple pie bites and took them on a 50 mile ride a few weeks ago and loved them:

http://www.ourpaleolife.com/2013/03/apple-pie-bites/

2014-07-09 10:54 AM
in reply to: jenstewey

User image

Extreme Veteran
Some Larabars are Paleo compatible. Also, dates and nuts. I make my own grain free, dairy free banana bread, and it's pretty good.
2014-07-09 10:57 AM
in reply to: jenstewey

User image

Extreme Veteran
, Connecticut