General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Half Marathon Training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2014-07-09 11:35 AM

User image

Regular
Subject: Half Marathon Training
Thinking of doing my first Half in November (Philadelphia) and looking at training plans. Its an increase in my running mileage, but I also don't want to lose the swim/bike portion and start from scratch in winter. Is there a plan that incorporates swimming/biking day or days into a half marathon training program? Should I just use swimming as a "break" from running or a recovery day activity?

Might be a dumb question, but I'm new to HM training.

2014-07-09 11:55 AM
in reply to: hessma

User image

Veteran
Austin, Texas
Subject: RE: Half Marathon Training

My view - if a HM is after the end of your tri season (assuming you're primarily a tri person, as the post suggests), then it's a great way to do a run focus with a carrot at the end (assuming also that you like racing, of course!).

I've done this a few times in the past year, and you can mostly maintain the swim and bike while improving the run.  Then you can leverage the build up in your run the following season - bonus!  

As for how often to swim/bike, that depends on a couple things:  how hard you want to push the run (just finish well, or reeeeeeally go for it and PR by as much as possible); how much of a break you want from s/b (if at all); how much time you have to train; and how well you recover.  And prolly other stuff, too - but these come to mind quickly.

IIRC the first couple times I cut back to 2 swim and 2 bike sessions a week (one harder and one more as a recovery in each) with usually 5 or 6 days a week running.  I was surprised that neither s nor b slipped all that far after a 3 month run focus.  They definitely slipped some, but it was enough work to keep the base there and bring it back moderately quickly when back into balanced training mode.