General Discussion Race Reports! » YMCA Colonial Beach Sprint Triathlon Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

YMCA Colonial Beach Sprint Triathlon - Triathlon

View Member's Race Log View other race reports
Colonial Beach, Virginia
United States
Set Up Events
68F / 20C
Sunny
Total Time = 1h 37m 12s
Overall Rank = 179/310
Age Group = 45-49
Age Group Rank = 16/20
Pre-race routine:

My wife and I stayed at a hotel located 100 yards from the transition area. I awoke at 0500 ate a Nature Valley Protein bar and a yogurt, showered and pushed my bike across the street. I set up my transition area and got body marked and chipped. All uneventful except that I am still new at this and was nervous.
Event warmup:

I went for a ten minute slow run with a couple of pickups at the end and then popped back through the hotel room to take care of some business, this avoiding the Porta-Potty.

I got to the swim start and went for a short swim while the couple of waves in front of me were starting, as you will see, this proved to be a bad move.

Swim
  • 20m 34s
  • 750 meters
  • 02m 44s / 100 meters
What would you do differently?:

In retrospect, there must have been a bit of an eddy, pushing me to the left and when I came out of it, the current set me way to the right. I should have been looking at the other waves in front of me and studying the current. The crazy thing is, I teach sailing, navigation and run a charter fishing boat… I know better! I should have watched the other waves go out in front of me and sighted more often.
Transition 1
  • 00m
Comments:

I have no idea of my time, I do not know why, but I have no times until the finish of T2. I crossed the pads, but maybe I did so at the same time as someone else? Does that matter?

it went well...
Bike
  • 46m 22s
  • 14 miles
  • 18.12 mile/hr
Comments: